Posted: 16 Maret 2010 in Japanese Music

TAKUYA∞ is the vocalist for the group as well as in charge of writing the band’s music and programming. He was born on December 21, 1979 in Osaka while he later moved to Kusatsu, Shiga Prefecture. Katsuya, who is in charge of guitar, rhythm guitar, chorus, is the band’s leader. He was born on February 22, 1981. Akira was born on March 8, 1984 and like Katsuya, is in charge of the guitar, rhythm guitar, chorus and programming for the band. Nobuto is in charge of the bass guitar. He was born on February 14, 1980 while Shintarō, the second youngest member of the group was born on November 5, 1983 in Ōtsu, Shiga Prefecture is in charge of the drums. All the members except Takuya and Shintarō were born and lived in Kusatsu, Shiga Prefecture.


The five-member band known as Uverworld first formed in 2003, and were known as Sound Goku Road, (more popularly known as “Sangoku Road” in the independent music scene). The band originally consisted of seven members, and released Prime’03, a demo CD which ended up selling 3,000 copies. Unfortunately, one of the band members, the saxophonist Seika, left the group (the other was Hiko, who left after he married). After his departure, Ace Trigger renamed himself Takuya and the band renamed itself to Uverworld.

According to an interview with the band there was another vocalist who left, however this vocalist hasn’t yet been identified. Though it appears that that person may have left some time before Seika did, as Seika is the only one of the two credited on the demo CD and pictured with very early live photos of the band pre-Uverworld.

2005 was the year that the band signed with the label gr8! records, which is under Sony Music Records. The band made their debut with the single “D-tecnoLife”, which was the 2nd opening theme for the anime Bleach.[3] The single made its debut in the Oricon charts at the 4th spot with 31,569 copies together with Mr. Children‘s 27th single, “Yonjigen Four Dimensions” (四次元 Four Dimensions?) on the top spot.[4] The single then later dropped to 7th place in the second week with 16,306 copies sold.[5] The third week in the Oricon charts saw the single dropped 2 places to the 9th spot with 13,761 copies.[6] The single lasted 5 weeks in the Top 30 Weekly Singles ranking.[7][8] The single’s sales and Chaku-Uta Full (着うたフル?) downloads were certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of Japan.[9][10]

Three months later, Uverworld’s second single, “Chance!” was used as the commercial and opening theme for second PSP game of Bleach: Heat the Soul series.[11] The band’s second single first entered the Oricon charts on the 5th spot with 14,150 copies.[12] The single later dropped to the 23rd spot selling 6,360 copies on the second week.[13] The single’s ranking remained the same, however the amount of copies sold on the third week was lesser than the previous week with 5,495 copies.[14] The single only managed to stay on the Top 30 Weekly Singles ranking for three weeks.

On January 25, 2006 “Just Melody”, the band’s third single, ended up at #17 on the Oricon charts. Three weeks later Uverworld’s 1st album Timeless was released, breaking the top 10 at #5 and selling 60,000 copies. Seika made a brief return during this album, playing saxophone for track 5, Yasashisa no Shizuku (優しさの雫?). After a three month break, Uverworld released Colors of the Heart as the third opening theme for Blood+, an anime series based on the animated movie, Blood: The Last Vampire. The single debuted at #3 and was the highest position any of Uverworld’s singles had reached up to that time.

Their 5th single, entitled “Shamrock”, was released on August 2, 2006, and was used as the ending theme for the J-Drama Dance Drill, a show about a group of girls who aspire to become cheerleaders. Uverworld 6th Single was released on November 15, 2006, entitled Kimi no Suki na Uta, the song was used as the theme song for the TBS TV show Koi Suru Hanikami! or Honey Coming! from the broadcast of October until December. It reached number two on the Oricon charts, which was the second highest place for an Uverworld single so far until it fell off of the charts three and a half weeks later. It sold around 70,000 copies according to the Oricon sales charts.

On February 21, 2007, Uverworld released their second album titled Bugright. It featured the singles Uverworld had released after Timeless. “Nagare・Kūkyo・This Word” (~流れ・空虚・This Word~?) was included in the tribute soundtrack titled as The songs for Death Note the movie – the Last name Tribute- for Death Note.[15]

In March 6, 2007, the band was also part of an event called ‘We♥Music Vol.2’ held in the Shibuya-AX where Uverworld performed against Sid.[16]

The band’s third album, titled Proglution, was released on January 16, 2008 and contain full 18 tracks. The album also contain their singles “Ukiyo Crossing” (浮世 Crossing?), “endscape” and “Shaka Beach: Laka Laka La” (シャカビー チ~Laka Laka La~?). The album was released in a CD-only version and a limited edition that includes an extra DVD. Proglution sold over 150,000 copies.

June 11, 2008 saw the release of the single Gekidou / Just break the limit!. Gekidou was used as the fourth opening theme of the anime series, D.Gray-man, while the song Just break the limit! was used as a support song for Pocari Sweat‘s CM. Two more singles were released in 2008, “Koishikute” (恋いしくて?) and “Hakanaku mo Towa no Kanashi” (儚くも永久のカナシ?). Hakanaku mo Towa no Kanashi was used as the opening for the second season of Mobile Suit Gundam 00 anime.[17] The single became the band’s first number 1 single on Oricon[18] with approximately 181,784 copies sold. The single has since gone on to become the highest selling single from the band.

On February 18, 2009 the band released their 4th album titled Awakeve. The album sold over 115,000 copies on its first week and ranked #2 on the Oricon album chart. A DVD of their live performance in Nippon Budokan was released on April 29, 2009.

The band’s 13th single was released on August 5, 2009 titled as “Go-On.” The single’s title track will be featured as the second ending theme on the Japanese broadcast of the House‘s first season.

The band is scheduled to perform at 2009’s Inazuma Rock Fes. held in Shiga Prefecture.[19] They are also releasing their 4th DVD of the Awakeve Tour 09 on September 30, 2009.

The band has confirmed their 14th single on October 28, 2009 named “Kanashimi wa Kitto” (哀しみはきっと?) for the Tokyo Broadcasting System drama Shōkōjo Seira, based on the children’s novel, A Little Princess written by Frances Hodgson Burnett.[20] The song’s lyrics will be written by Takuya∞ and will be co-composed by both the lyricist and Satoru Hiraide while the arrangement will be done by the band and Hiraide.[21]

On October 9, 2009, an English official website was announced and it went online at 12pm Japan Standard Time.[22]

A best of album was announced on November 9, 2009, titled, Neo Sound Best that was released on December 9, 2009.[23] They are also scheduled to perform at the Ontama Carnival 2010 together with Funky Monkey Babys and flumpool.[23]

Their 15th Single title GOLD is set to release on March 31, 2010 making it their first release of the year


Tinggalkan Balasan

Isikan data di bawah atau klik salah satu ikon untuk log in:


You are commenting using your account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Google+

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Logout /  Ubah )

Gambar Twitter

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Facebook

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Logout /  Ubah )


Connecting to %s